El Mexicano Restaurant

Reviews

What the people say about our food

Google

The food just keeps coming! We ordered the $8 lunch special expecting just the food we ordered. Almost immediately they came over with a basket of chips & salsa. After a few minutes they brought us small cheese quesadillas. Then the lunches we ordered. The portions weren't huge but definitly worth the $8. After we finished our lunches & were awaiting the check they brought us plates of grilled banana. We couldn't believe all the food they brought us. Then our check came & all that delicious food actually cost $8! I'll definitly be back every time I'm out that way.

 

- Phillip Cocca

8 months ago -

 

 

Yelp

This place is really fun.  A little dull from the outside, but the inside is anything but.  They have fresh Mexican food, not canned.  A few little extras like a cheese quesadilla app, fried tortilla and banana dessert, and a free shot of Tequilla at the end of your meal. The Margaritas are good and fairly priced.  I have been here 4 times and had a great meal each time.  Very friendly staff as well.

 

- William T.    Castleton, VT

7/7/2015-

 

 

 

TripAdvisor

“Nice inexpensive lunch on the patio”

sunstarmoon42

Queensbury, New York

Reviewed September 9, 2015

Nice inexpensive lunch on the patio in beautiful Saratoga Springs. Served us plenty of food for little cost. Lunch included cheese Quesada before meal along with chips & salsa and fried banana dessert. Good value and food was very good.

 

“Nice inexpensive lunch on the patio” sunstarmoon42

Queensbury, New York-

 

 

 

Other Reviews

 
Google
 

Hector Griffin
3 months ago

We barely sat down and they came over we salsa and chips.  They did the same with the margaritas and even my daughter's virgin strawberry Margarita.  They even brought a soft tortilla with melted cheese while we waited for the appetizers!  The food was great and authentic.  I  had the abanil platter with shrimp.  All the portions were so big we took them home.   Great food  and service.  If I'm ever in the area again this is a must. 

 

Andrew Callahan
a year ago

Best Mexican food around. Beats most of the "authentic" Mexican food joints in Texas, where I spent 4 years. BEST SERVICE ANYWHERE. They serve you well, the prices are fantastic, and the food is mouth watering. 

 

Mike Berrios
a year ago

Awesome Mexican food.  Chillequilles are the best I have ever had. Everything is good there as well as the staff.

 

Dominick Santini
9 months ago

Food is great. Service is excellent.

 

Jason McCormack
11 months ago

Muy delisioso!

 

Josh Pesin
3 years ago

As authentic as it gets.  Lots of extras, including free mini-quesadillas, chips and salsa at the beginning of our meal and a Mexican dessert at the end.  My family was in a food coma after we were done.  Authentic Mexican done right.

 

Tim Goat
2 years ago

Amazing Mexican restaurant! So friendly and  delicious food! Gracias!

 

David Markowski
2 years ago

Service was fantastic price for what we had was more than reasonable glad we stopped there.

 

Eric Potter
4 years ago

Best Mexican in town!

 

A Google User
3 years ago

Its amazing. First of all thier salsa and chips are free and theyre soooo good. ¡! The place has walls totaly colored and painted with mexican sumbraros etc. Desert of banana stuffed in this warm crisp roll with syrup and cinnamon and whipt ...More

 

A Google User
5 years ago

We live up the road from this restaurant and tried it for the first time tonight.  The food is amazing.  The staff is wonderful and friendly (that goes for the mariachi as well), not annoying like many of the chains out there.  The ...More

 

A Google User
6 years ago

GREAT FOOD! VERY AFFORDABLE! AWESOME SERVICE! LOVE THE MARGARITAS! AND WHEN THE STAFF FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY THEY WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE  IT SPECIAL! ALSO LOVED THE MARIACHI! WILL GO BACK!

 

A Google User
4 years ago

We have been going ot El Mexicano since it opened. The food here is excellent and very authentic. They are also very generous. You get as much chips and salsa at no extra charge a free qesadilla in the beginning of your meal and at the end ...More

 

A Google User
6 years ago

This is some of the best Mexican food I've had, and at exceptional prices (especially lunch).  I've lived in or commuted to NYC, San Antonio, San Diego, and Baltimore, and this competes (and for many dishes, wins) against the best those ...More

 

A Google User
4 years ago

I lived on Texas for many years and enjoyed very authentic food and this place is still better than the rest. The service is fast and friendly, entered are served with chips and salsa and s cheese quesadilla for a starter and includes ...More

 

A Google User
4 years ago

The food here is amazing.  Their mole is unbeatable!  The service is also great.  They always give us a few things for free when we dine in.  The interior of the restaurant is beautiful, very colorful, and authentic.  You will NOT be ...More

 

A Google User
6 years ago

This place has the best salsa I've ever had. The rest of the menu ain't so bad either. Add great friendly service and I'll be back. The only bad this is they charge you for drink refills

 

A Google User
4 years ago

Amazing food! Authentic and great service. We have here dozens if times and its always consistent! So so good.

 

A Google User
3 years ago

Not texas but the next best thing! !! Awesomr

 

A Google User
3 years ago

El Mexicano is our favorite restaurant, by far.  I've tried almost every menu item, and they're all great.  If you like Mexican food, you'll like El Mexicano.

 
Yelp
 
Morgan L.
Underhill, VT
6/24/2013

On a recent trip to Lake George, we were delighted to learn that this place was owned by the same folks that own the one in Saratoga - that I had stumbled across on Yelp on a trip down that way and my husband had fallen in love with.  We were not let down with this location and my husband kept trying to make excuses to drive back over to it on subsequent days.  Each meal comes with chips / salsa, a small cheese quesadilla, and a fried banana dessert.  For dinners, my husband had the suiza and I had the pollo poblano.  Both were quite good - his exceptionally so! I'm sure it's not "authentic" Mexican but I feel so much more confident knowing that it might be closer being that it's Mexicans that run the place. Speaking of which, the service was impeccable too - everyone was very friendly and attentive. Our options for Mexican in Vermont come nowhere close to this - the quality and taste of the food that was served was no doubt better here!
 

Jeffrey V.
Queensbury, NY
5/11/2014

Great food, robust flavor, nicely sized portions and excellent atmosphere.  After searching for time for a decent Ethnic restaurant in the area, I went here based on a friend’s referral and was delightfully surprised by the quality and excellent flavor of the food.  The waiter was attentive and knew his job. Not overly expensive, and good service.  Been there 3 times now, and its never disappointed us.  Can’t beat it.  I highly recommend it.

 
Cory D.
Midlothian, VA
1/16/2009

I had hoped to try a Cuban restaurant nearby, only to find it closed.  A few miles of aimless driving later, I happened across El Mexicano. I'm very happy I did. Complimentary appetizers and desserts, a wonderful mole poblano, and friendly and courteous wait staff more than made up for the evening's earlier disappointments. The murals on the walls are impressive and the hand-painted tables are very nice. My only complaint is that at about an hour from Albany, Hudson Falls is a bit out of the way.  That said, I think I'm going to try and find some excuse to go there just so that I can visit El Mexicano again soon.  :)
 
Tripadvisor
 

“Family dinner”
vtsummergirl
Vermont
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Excellent service for a hungry family! Delicious food and extra friendly service! Our food was hot and delivered quickly.

 

“Going to a concert.”
Rick R
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewed September 8, 2015

I absolutely loved this place. Great food! Great service! Great Price! Will most certainly return! Try this restaurant!

 

"Usual food with attentive service"
Kevin M
Fresh Meadows
Reviewed August 28, 2015

Went for dinner. Not a lot of folks there. Atmosphere was typical colorful Mexican painted decor. Food was your average Mexican selection with some expensive specials. We had enchiladas suizes and flautas. Just average. But the staff is attentive. Brings lots of chips with Good salza. Then brings small cheese quesadilla before meal served. Then after dinner they bring a...

 

“Great Food excellent service”
Rudyvn
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed August 28, 2015

Went here after the races with family party of 6. We made a reservation off trip advisor because of the great reviews. The reviews were correct. The food was excellent. Steak was very tender and portions were large. Left there stuffed. Wait staff was very attentive. Gave us free shot of tequila and a desert. Will definitely go back.

 

“Good quality and good prices”
Caitlin K
Cherry Valley, New York
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Good standard Mexican fare. Excellent chips and salsa. Attentive and helpful service. Reasonable prices and very good selection

 

“Yummy food, great service”
FlexGirl58
New York City
Reviewed August 14, 2015

The service was attentive and wonderful! It felt like visiting family (well, nice family!) The food is good and there is a great selection of vegetarian options.

 

“Excellence!”
Reviewed August 9, 2015

Wow! It just doesn't get any better! Gracious host, attentive waitstaff and amazing food. We had combo platters starting with a large fresh salad and red sangria which was all of the highest quality. And surprise a free banana dessert and tequila at the end. We look forward to returning to this fun place!

 

“Everything was wonderful and plentiful! ”
daysfan6
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewed July 29, 2015

We chose to eat here with some trepidation. We were in the mood for good Mexican food and the TripAdvisor ratings while very good were not outstanding. We ate dinner at a busy time (7pm). We were seated immediately. We received our drinks and complementary quesadillas promptly. However, it took quite some time to order. The appetizers arrived soon after. The meals were brought out quickly.
The food was a wonderful surprise. Everything was wonderful and plentiful. When I asked for the check, I was shocked to hear that dessert and tequilas are free! When the dessert arrived we thought we had died and gone to heaven. Wow! We'll definitely return.

 

“The best raspberry margaritas!”
paco1003
New York
Reviewed July 24, 2015

The best raspberry margaritas ever!!!!!!!!!!! Great service!!!! Chips & salsa were delicious and the outdoor seating was great!

 

“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 21, 2015

I will start with the fact that I hate Mexican food. Was with a large party and didn't have much of a choice. Well, I was quite pleasantly surprised by the diverse and flexible menu. In addition the food was delicious. I had a shrimp dish in white sauce with rice....nothing spicy. Everyone else had the typical Mexican flair and was quite satisfied. The pitchers of Margaritas were great and constantly flowing. We celebrated a birthday and they surprised the birthday boy with a large sombrero, dessert and a round of tequila shots...what else can you ask for? Great service, great prices and I have to admit great food! Would return